Barry Jive: Thor

Lets be honest. I’ve never been a big Marvel Comics fan, I’ve never been a big Avengers fan and I’ve never been a big Thor fan. Whats more, I’ve always found the concept behind Thor a bit silly. Iron men, Super Soldier Serum, even the Hulk– all that stuff is unrealistic, but feasible within the laws of our universe. Some rich dude COULD build himself a streamlined, rumble-ready Mech suit if he really applied himself, a scientist MIGHT become a monster due to the side effects of a dangerous scientific exploration into gamma technology, and I can damn well guarantee the US government has some sort of super soldier project in the works; I read about that shit on the internet. But Thor is a FUCKING GOD! Its not like he’s just some strong dude that named himself after the Norse god due to his strength. He isn’t pretending. He is actually a god, banished to earth for some ethereal misdeed… This is the premise Kenneth Brannaugh was given to work with.

Luckily, good ol’ Ken knocked it out of the ball park. I found myself at the midnight premier with some friends, having tagged along for the company rather than the content, I was not expecting much. However, from the opening scene I was hooked. Thor was an action-packed kick in the ass for an hour and a half, and I sat there, 3-D glasses wrapped tightly into my head, and smiled like a frittata that saw a firetruck. THE ENTIRE TIME. I was a huge fan of the first Iron Man flick, but I only liked Iron Man 2 and The Incredible Hulk well enough to feel like I got my money’s worth, if just barely. Thor, however, delivers on the fun, and expands the Avengers world in a great way. You can really see how the team might come together. Geek boner.

As for the cast, Chris Hemsworth is “man-crush” inspiring, Natalie Portman was perfect, and when I masturbate to freeze frames of Thor, I wont have to cry like I do with Black Swan. Anyway. Katt Dennings is at her cutest and most charming since The 40 Year Old Virgin, and Stellan Skarsgard is great, if not a pedigree too large for his role; though I have suspicions he’ll turn up again, and as a badass. I have to say though, even with the A listers and rising B listers listed above, my favorite part of the movie was Clark Gregg’s Agent Phil Coulson. Its a shame he wont be in Captain America (its set in the 40’s remember) but he only makes me look forward to the Avengers even more.

Lastly, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the score. I have no clue who scored this flick, but as my compatriot, Simon Theory, put it, “That score was brilliant. It felt heroically reminiscent of John Williams ‘Superman’.” And when he’s right, he’s right. Go see this flick people, its a fucking geek boner and a half.

Oh, and don’t forget to stay after the credits.

About This Week's Obsession

We have opinions...so you don't have to.
This entry was posted in The Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

